My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

French Onion Soup 

IMG_2552

We had one of those rare cold May weekends so I took the opportunity to make my mom’s French onion soup. It’s a simple, delicious meal perfect for a chilly afternoon.

INGREDIENTS:

4 large onions, sliced thinly

4 cups beef stock

1 TBSP butter

1 TBSP olive oil

1 TBSP Worcestershire sauce

1 TBSP lemon juice

1 tsp garlic powder

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_2545

I sliced the onions with my kitchen mandolin. You can also just thinly slice them.

IMG_2546

I sautéed the onion, butter and olive oil over medium heat for 6 minutes. The olive oil just keeps the butter from burning.

IMG_2547

I added the stock, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper and cooked until the onions were soft.

IMG_2548

I set the oven to broil and set my soup bowls on a lined baking tray. This makes clean up easy in case of spills.

IMG_2549

I ladled the soup into the bowls and topped with slices of baguette and shredded mozzarella cheese.

IMG_2550

I broiled the soup until the cheese was brown and bubbly.

IMG_2551

Enjoy this quick meal with your family. It’s a crowd pleaser.

IMG_2553

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

