My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Found Recipe: Oatmeal Cookies

So in my last post, I added some of my own recipes to a recipe journal I found. Now I’m going to try one of the recipes that were already in this cookbook.

IMG_2138

I decided to try making the oatmeal cookies. This recipe must make a small batch as it only calls for 1/2 cups of flour and rolled oats. There’s also no egg, which is unusual. Maybe the person recording this recipe had an egg allergy.

I gathered my ingredients.

IMG_2150

I combined the dry ingredients in a bowl.

IMG_2151

The I creamed the butter, shortening (used here instead of lard,) and the sugar.

IMG_2153

I added the dry ingredients and the boiling water with the cream mixture and stirred until just combined.

IMG_2154

Then I added dark chocolate chips because they make cookies better.

IMG_2156

I scooped the batter onto a lined baking sheet.

IMG_2157

Then I baked then at 350F for 10 minutes.

IMG_2158

Weird looking but not bad tasting.

IMG_2160

Because of the lack of egg and the low flour content, these cookies are soft, like too soft to pick up, have to eat them with a fork soft.

IMG_2161

If I was going to make these again, I would either tinker with the recipe to make the cookies a bit more firm, or I’d make them crumbly and serve them as a crumble topping for ice cream.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

