My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

The Darkest Night of Winter

Well, I made it. Tonight is the darkest night of the year. The Winter Solstice falls on December 21 at 11:49PM EST in my neck of the woods. That means that today is the day of the year that my part of the world receives the smallest amount of sunlight.

Although sunlight isn’t the be all and end all of depression, many people with anxiety or depression (like me,) are affected by changes in the environment. In the winter I am less energetic. Sometimes I have trouble sleeping or waking up in the morning. For me, there is something comforting about knowing that tomorrow will have a little more light than today, and that each day will get a little longer after that.

Even though this is a small thing, it feels like an accomplishment. I made it past another yearly milestone that I find particularly difficult. This year was not easy. Maybe next year will be better. At least tomorrow will be a little brighter.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

