My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Roasting your own red peppers

I love peppers but I’m always a little disappointed by those jars of roasted red peppers. They taste oily and flat. I had never bothered to roast my own peppers, despite the fact that it’s ridiculously easy. Then I ran into a situation where my crisper was full of red peppers.

2015-09-23 12.23.29

Did everyone buy peppers this week? Are my cats sneaking peppers into the house?

I hate waste so I decided to roast these peppers and use them up that way. All you need to roast your own peppers are some sweet peppers, a roasting pan lined with tinfoil and a few tablespoons of olive oil if you plan to store your peppers after they’re roasted.

2015-09-23 12.28.44

I began by cutting my peppers in half and removing the stems, seeds and ribs.

2015-09-23 12.30.57

Then I placed them on a foil lined baking tray and baked them at 450 F for 25 minutes.

2015-09-23 13.02.20

Here they are fresh out of the oven.

2015-09-23 13.04.15

I placed them in a heat proof bowl and covered them with foil.

2015-09-23 13.05.01

I let them sit for 30 minutes to cool.

2015-09-23 13.51.50

Once they had cooled, I peeled off the skins with my fingers and was left with lovely roasted red peppers. The flavour of them was so much richer than jarred peppers.

You can use these right away or store them in an airtight container with 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil for up to a week. You can put these peppers in sandwiches or salads, blend them into soup, or as I’ll show you in an upcoming recipe, make them into pasta sauce. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

