My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Spinach Soup

So my little garden patch of spinach has been growing abundantly. That means there are some spinach recipes coming your way, starting with spinach soup. As a teacher I find the summer is a great time to stock the freezer and pantry with easy meals and preserves for the fall. This soup is easy, delicious and it freezes for up to six months. I suggest you freeze it in empty ice cream or yogurt containers, (but don’t microwave these containers as they are not microwave safe!) This might also make its way on to your summer menus as you can serve it chilled.

Here is the recipe from my trustworthy Harrowsmith's Cook book.

Here is the recipe from my trustworthy Harrowsmith’s Cookbook.

So here is the spinach from my garden. You can use regular or baby spinach. Baby spinach has a milder flavour.

Here is the spinach from my garden. You can use regular or baby spinach. Baby spinach has a milder flavour.

These are your ingredients. See recipe above for details.

These are your ingredients. See recipe above for details.

I used green onion in my soup but you can also use white, yellow or red onion. Choose the one you like best.

I used green onion in my soup but you can also use white, yellow or red onion. Choose the ones you like best.

Add

Add the spinach and when it wilts, add the peas and rice.

Give the a good saute.

Give everything a good stir.

Pour in the stock.

Pour in the stock and bring to a boil.

Cover and

Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Add the cream (or milk if you're going low-fat).

Add the cream (or milk if you’re going low fat).

I puree mine using a blender stick but you could batch blend it in a blender or food processor.

I puree mine using a blender stick but you could batch blend it in a blender or food processor.

Serve with sour cream and dill to garnish.

Serve with sour cream and dill to garnish.

Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

