My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Maybe I should have been a gift wrapper…

Recently my niece Eliina turned seven. When I asked her dad what she might like for her birthday, he suggested an Apple gift card or a sketch book. I felt weird about giving a seven-year old a gift card so I decided to get creative with the gift wrapping.

I started with the basic gift of a sketchbook, an Apple gift card and a chocolate bar. Like me, Eliina loves chocolate!

I started with the basic gift of a sketchbook, an Apple gift card and a chocolate bar. Like me, Eliina loves chocolate!

I added some fun stickers I found at a craft store.

I added some fun stickers I found at a craft store.

I personalized the back of the gift card.

I personalized the back of the gift card.

I stuck the gift card to the first page of the sketchbook and decorated with drawings and heart stickers.

I stuck the gift card to the first page of the sketchbook and decorated with drawings and heart stickers.

Finally, I wrapped the whole thing up and added a card, a bow and the chocolate bar. I went with a pink and purple colour scheme.

Finally, I wrapped the whole thing up and added a card, a bow and the chocolate bar. I went with a pink and purple colour scheme.

Eliina's mom sent me this photo after the party. Apparently Eliina wanted to get started on her art right away.

Eliina’s mom sent me this photo after the party. Apparently Eliina wanted to get started on her art right away.

So there is my gift and Eliina loved it! When you need to wrap a gift for someone, choose some small, personal touches to go with the main gift. Also, to make your gift wrapping look professional, choose one or two colours and coordinate all the elements to it. People may even think you had someone wrap it for you.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

