My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Chipmunk Relocation Program 2

For those of you who didn’t watch Nick and I rescue a chipmunk and move him to a nearby forest, you can read that post here.

What did I spend my morning doing? Oh not much, just returning a chipmunk to the wild. So this summer we have a new chipmunk who is trying to dig a home under our front porch. This will not stand.

So Nick set up a trap to have the chipmunk fall into one of our garbage cans and then we could wheel him to the forest nearby. Nice plan. The problem arose when the chipmunk fell into the trap when I was home along…first thing in the morning.

This is my impressed face.

This is my impressed face.

Here is the chipmunk, unhurt but suitably annoyed.

Here is the chipmunk, unhurt but suitably annoyed.

Nick insisted I take some seeds for the chipmunk and sprinkle them around for him. I married a crazy man.

Nick insisted I take some seeds for the chipmunk and sprinkle them around for him. I married a crazy man.

I brought him to the edge of the woods near a stream.

I brought him to the edge of the woods near a stream.

Now to coax him out of the garbage can.

Now to coax him out of the garbage can.

I tilted the can slightly and the chipmunk shot out so fast, I didn't have time to get a photo of him leaving.

I tilted the can slightly and the chipmunk shot out so fast, I didn’t have time to get a photo of him leaving.

Hopefully I took him far enough away that he doesn’t find his way back to our yard.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

