My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Art Assignment 29 Make a Thing

I love Nyan Cat!

I love Nyan Cat!

For those of you who haven’t experienced this adorable meme, click below and enjoy.

In fact, I have some experience being a Nyan Cat.

Here I am as Nyan Nyan Kitty for Halloween.

Here I am as Nyan Kitty for Halloween.

And here are my cats exploring my costume.

And here are my cats exploring my costume.

My students loved this costume but that was a previous art project so I wanted to do something new for this art assignment. I’m making a Nyan Cat fridge magnet.

I used Sculpey, a printed template, rainbow ribbon and magnets to make my nyan cat.

I used Sculpey, a printed template, rainbow ribbon and magnets to make my Nyan Cat.

Sculpey is easy to use. Here are the instructions that come with the clay.

Sculpey is easy to use. Here are the instructions that come with the clay.

First I chose my colours.

First I chose my colours.

Next I rolled each ball of Sculpey to warm it up.

Next I rolled each ball of Sculpey to warm it up.

I rolled out the clay using my kitchen rolling pin and chopsticks to ensure the clay was the same thickness and would bake evenly.

I rolled out the clay using my kitchen rolling pin and chopsticks to ensure the clay was the same thickness and would bake evenly.

I used my template to cut and smooth the edges of each piece.

I used my template to cut and smooth the edges of each piece.

I made all my pieces and trimmed them with a sharp knife.

I made all my pieces and trimmed them with a sharp knife.

Then I began to assemble my kitty.

Then I began to assemble my kitty.

Once my kitty was ready I baked him at 275F for 25 minutes. As the clay colled, it hardened further, making a perfect magnet.

Once kitty was ready I baked him at 275F for 25 minutes. As the clay cooled, it hardened further, making a perfect magnet.

Once he was cooled, I glued on the ribbon and magnets. I also added his face details with a permanent black marker.

Once he was cooled, I glued on the ribbon and magnets. I also added his face details with a permanent black marker.

I added a bit of magnet to the end of the ribbon so nyan cat can even fly around corners.

I added a bit of magnet to the end of the ribbon so Nyan Cat can even fly around corners.

Now he hangs out on my fridge with Hello Kitty.

Now he hangs out on my fridge with Hello Kitty.

I think he looks pretty great.

I think he looks pretty great.

#theartassignment

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

