My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Cat Grass!

I have been in a hurry to see Summer arrive. In an effort to make it seem a bit more Summer-ish, I decided to try growing some cat grass from seeds for my kitties. For those of you who don’t know, cat grass is mostly just wheat that cats love to eat. Some people say it improves digestion and reduces hairballs. I know my cats love it.

I got the seeds from an heirloom seed provider called The Cottage Gardener.

Here's the packet of seeds.

Here’s the packet of seeds.

The instructions are on the back of the packet.

The instructions are on the back of the packet.

I filled a small container with dirt and planted the seeds.

I filled a small container with potting soil and planted the seeds.

I kept the soil moist but not wet.

I kept the soil moist but not wet.

I had to put the pot of cat grass up on my bookshelf, both so it would get enough light and so the cats would let it grow before eating it.

I had to put the pot of cat grass up on my bookshelf next to my bonsai, both so it would get enough light and so the cats would let it grow before eating it.

Here is the cat grass after one week.

Here is the cat grass after one week.

And here it is after two weeks. These were variegated cat grass seeds so it's normal for the grass to be white and green.

And here it is after two weeks. These were variegated cat grass seeds so it’s normal for the grass to be white and green.

Now it was time to let Tracker and Larry enjoy their summer treat.

They attacked it.

They attacked it.

That is one happy kitty!

That is one happy kitty!

I barely had enough time to take pictures before they devoured it.

I barely had enough time to take pictures before they devoured it.

I would have taken an after shot of the plant, but there was no point. It just looked like a pot full of dirt. They ate everything even remotely green. However, I’m glad they had fun. Besides, there is something satisfying in growing something that brings my furry buddies so much joy.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

