My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Homemade Birthday Card

I wanted a Minion birthday card for my friend Julie but I couldn’t find one anywhere. After spending waaaaay too much time on Pinterest, (that website is a time vampire!) I decided to make my own card. This is a fairly easy project so feel free to replicate it or make your own.

You will need one piece each yellow, white and blue paper, scissors, glue stick, a pencil and a black marker.

You will need one piece each yellow, white and blue paper, scissors, glue stick, a pencil and a black marker.

I started with the yellow paper and folded it into my card shape.

I started with the yellow paper and folded it into my card shape.

I cut the overalls out of the blue paper.

I cut the overalls out of the blue paper.

I printed out the Minion symbol for his overalls and traced his eyeballs. I used a ruler here and a cap to trace circles as my freehand drawing is not great.

I printed out the Minion symbol for his overalls and traced his eyeballs. I used a ruler here and a cap to trace circles as my freehand drawing is not great.

Once I had all the pieces cut, I began gluing them to the card. I pressed the card under a heavy book afterwards to stop the glue from rippling the paper.

Once I had all the pieces cut, I began gluing them to the card. I pressed the card under a heavy book afterwards to stop the glue from rippling the paper.

Here is the finished front of the card.

Here is the finished front of the card.

Now for a snazzy message and I am done!

Now for a snazzy message and I am done!

And don’t worry, I am posting this after Julie’s birthday so she got to see if first!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade Birthday Card

  1. Love the card. Great to see instructions.

Leave a Reply

