My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Art Assignment 25 Artistic Alchemy

Keep your eye on Foundations of Astronomy.

Keep your eye on Foundations of Astronomy.

Exterior.

Exterior.

Interior 1.

Interior 1.

Interior 2.

Interior 2.

Interior 3.

Interior 3.

Detail.

Detail.

At first I was having some real difficulty ‘destroying’ (transforming) a book. I justified it in the end because this book was published in 1978 and a lot of the information in it will be obsolete. Still, I felt a little guilty as I carved stars in this book. However, as I worked I saw the potential for art.

The beauty in the process.

The beauty in the process.

I’m really pleased with my finished project. I really enjoy the fact that I can hide this art piece on my bookshelf. I love the idea of people discovering the art inside this book when they expected something usual. Art can so easily confound expectations.

PS – I learned how to hollow out a book here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

