My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Homemade Gifts

So I couldn’t release this blog post before Christmas because I took photos of people’s gifts and I didn’t want them sneaking a peek. However, maybe you can use my work to inspire some gifts for next year.

There are a few things to keep in mind when making homemade gifts. First, only take on these projects when you want to. If making gifts becomes a chore or a source of stress, you shouldn’t do it. No one is going to die because you didn’t make their gift. Trust me, they’ll get over it. Second, don’t Martha Stewart yourself to death. I never make all of my gifts. It’s just too much work! Select the things you want to make and stick to that. Finally, pick things you know you’re good at. Christmas is enough stress without adding new projects or unfamiliar recipes to it! Keep it simple.

For my close friends, I made special holiday ice creams:

Christmas Crackle Ice Cream

Christmas Crackle Ice Cream

I also made my own labels.

I also made my own labels.

For the LBD gang I made Christmas decorations out of little jars filled with origami lucky stars:

Don't they look cute?

Don’t they look cute?

I made my own gift tags and wrapped the decorations in pretty boxes.

I made my own gift tags and wrapped the decorations in pretty boxes.

For my nieces and nephews I bought gifts but I also attached homemade candy cane reindeer:

These were the easiest of all to make.

These were the easiest of all to make.

None of the gifts I made was terribly expensive or time-consuming. I enjoyed working on them and I think my friends enjoyed receiving them. Now it’s your turn; what gifts do you make for friends and family?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

