My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Bonus Art Assignment: Please Do Not Touch

To illustrate how different her children are my Mom will often give people this one example. She’ll explain that when she was cooking in the kitchen, she told me not to touch the stove because the burner was hot. I nodded and never touched it. She told my brother the same thing but the minute she turned her back, he stuck one of his fingers on the burner.

“Ouch!” he wailed.

“I told you it was hot,” my Mom scolded, “Why did you touch it?”

“I wanted to see how hot it was.”

My Mom was illustrating how differently my brother and I learned, but I think it also speaks to how adventurous each of us is and how we listen differently.

I still sort of want to touch it.

I still sort of want to touch it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

