My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Migraines

I have mentioned in one or two blogs that I suffer from migraines. I just wanted to clarify what that means. To learn about the different types of headaches and migraines, visit The Headache Network of Canada. I am not a doctor, so if you think you are suffering from headaches or migraines, please see your doctor right away.

It is difficult for someone who has never had a migraine to understand what happens to my mind and body during a migraine. I have used this description before:

Think about the worst flu you’ve ever had combined with the worst hangover you’ve ever had. That’s pretty close to it.

My mom does an even better job of explaining the pain:

Take your head and put it in a vice and tighten it as much as you can. Now, for the next four to five hours, hit yourself in the head as hard as you can with a hammer, over and over in the same spot. While doing this, have someone flash lights in your eyes. Don’t eat, drink or sleep the whole time and every time you try to move, pound your had faster with the hammer.

That description makes me a bit queasy because it is so accurate. So next time someone tells you they have a migraine, be kind to them. They are experiencing a lot more than just head pain.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

