My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Revisiting Creativity

On a recent trip to visit my parents, my dad dug up some art I did in high school. I went to an arts-intensive high school and took five years of drama and visual art. I know these pieces were assignments and in retrospect I wish I had written the assignment instructions on the back. Regardless, here is my high school art. Be kind, I am a sensitive artist.

Still Life 1.

Still Life 1.

Still Life 2. These two pieces are obviously a series. I think we were working on still-life art with bottles.

Still Life 2.
These two pieces are obviously a series. I think we were working on still-life art with bottles.

I called this one Night Watch but I have no idea what the original assignment was.

I called this one Night Watch but I have no idea what the original assignment was.

 

I think this assignment was to draw a door. I gave this piece as a gift to my dad.

I think this assignment was to draw a door. I gave this piece as a gift to my dad.

 

I can't remember what this assignment was but if you look carefully, you can see I earned 13/15. Not bad.

I can’t remember what this assignment was but if you look carefully, you can see I earned 13/15. Not bad.

 

This is a copy I made of an illustration from a children's book called "The Flower Family." Can you spot the flower hidden in the church?

This is a copy I made of an illustration from a children’s book called “The Flower Family.” Can you spot the flower hidden in the church?

I'm pretty sure this assignment was to juxtapose two items, in my case, candy and clean teeth!

I’m pretty sure this assignment was to juxtapose two items, in my case, candy and clean teeth!

I was so creative in high school. I am grateful to the art assignment for bringing me back to that creativity. I may not be a ‘Great Artist,’ but I am a creative person and I enjoy making art.

#theartassignment

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

