My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Making the Most of Spring: Therapeudic Gardening

I always thought I was bad with plants. I kill most house plants. In fact, my mom, (who has an incredible green thumb,) has rescued many of my houseplants and nursed them back to greenness in the safety of her own home. However, since buying a home, I have figured out that I do alright with outdoor plants. I have a lot to live up to. Most of my neighbours are retired and their gardens are breathtaking. So I had no choice but to get outside and at least make my yard look presentable by comparison.

This year, during a particularly deep bout of depression, I spent a whole day working in my garden. I dug and planted and raked, all in a light rain. Something about having my hands in the dirt felt healing. I was out all day. I ate lunch in the garage because I was too dirty to come inside. I stayed out until the sun began to set.

Spring is the time to plant. Here are a few photos of some of the work I did:

Round one.

Round one.

Before.

Before.

After.

After.

Before.

Before.

After, (mini herb garden in a pot).

After, (mini herb garden in a pot).

I was so excited about my first projects, that I went back to the garden store and got more supplies so I could keep working:

Round two.

Round two.

Before.

Before.

After.

After.

Oh, and for those of you in the London area, I went to Van Horik’s for my garden supplies. It’s a smaller nursery but the staff is very knowledgeable and always ready to help. My suggestion is to grow something this Spring; inside or outside, vegetables or flowers. Growing things is good for the soul.

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

