My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Do Good

The message of this blog is post is simple: Do good

Sometimes when my anxiety is high, I have difficulty dealing with the depression that follows it. For those of you who don’t know, most people suffer both anxiety and depression, rather than one or the other. Therefore, even when I am able to control my anxious feelings, I am often left feeling depressed and washed out.

I’m lucky enough to have an amazing support system to assist me. In addition to Life by Design, I have my fiancé, my family, my friends, and a really great counsellor. However, even with all this, I still have to learn to fight my own depression.

Sometimes when I am caught up in my own brain, the best way to move on is to focus on others. In a recent bout of depression, I was able to move on by doing good for others. My school is holding its annual toy and food drive for needy children. I took my sad self and headed out for some retail therapy for charity. I took $40 and got all this at Walmart:

20131122_142343

It felt so good to do something positive for kids in need. I imagined the little kids opening these gifts on Christmas morning and playing happily with them. So just like I started this blog, do good. Do it for other people and do it for your own mental health.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Do Good

  1. Thanks for the honest post. I haven’t suffered anxiety to the extent that you do, and yet in my experience, doing good always gives me a lift. I hope you get an opportunity to do more good and that it helps you, get and be better. 🙂

    • Thanks Andrew. I figure if I’m trying to do good consistently, at least I won’t feel any worse. Besides, it’s difficult to be anxious or depressed when you’re helping others. Isn’t it funny that by helping others we’re often helping ourselves too!

Leave a Reply

