My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Just take the frickin’ compliment.

The other day a friend told me I had great legs. I responded, “Thanks. It actually used to be one of the areas of my body I was most self-conscious about.” This was not always a natural response for me. If someone tried to compliment me, I’d likely blush, mumble a bit and say something mildly disparaging about myself to balance it out.

Lots of people do this without thinking; they question or deny any words of kindness. Somehow we have the misguided idea that accepting a compliment is vain. It’s a silly idea that doesn’t help our self images. Women tend to be really bad at this sort of thing. Compliment most ladies and they will either deny it, (“Oh, I don’t think my legs look so great”) or give you a mushy, not-so-sincere compliment in return, (“Are you kidding? Look at how great you look in that dress!)

My advice? Just take the compliment. Take it and say thank you. Then when you’re feeling sad, take out that compliment and allow its warmth to sooth you.

As you train better and eat better and think better, people will notice and want to compliment you. Don’t be ungracious. If someone takes the time to compliment you, at least take the time to accept kindly. Part of being healthy is having a strong enough sense of self to accept the good and be thankful.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

