My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Chicken soup for my soul

While I was sick, I desperately needed soup. However, I wanted to avoid the red and white canned version full of salt and preservatives, (you all know the cans I mean). I decided to try making my own soup. Here’s the trick to making soup: you put stuff into a pot, heat it and stir until delicious. That’s it. So I’m including the version I made but there are no measurements needed and you can change, omit and replace anything in it. Enjoy!

20130915-212318.jpg

I made my own chicken stock by boiling a chicken carcass from a roast chicken, a lemon, onion, carrot and some celery all cut up, peppercorns, a bay leaf, some sage and some salt in a pot full of water. I bring it to a boil, reduce it to a simmer and simmer for several hours – the longer the better with stock. Once it is ready, I cool it, strain it and it’s ready to go in recipes or be frozen for later.

20130916_174729

Of course, if you want to buy your stock pre-made, that works too. Just watch out for MSG as most store-bought stocks have a big dose of it. I like Kitchen Basics because it is the most natural choice at my grocery store.

20130916_175218

For my soup I left out the noodles and went for chicken, corn, mushrooms, peas, celery and carrots.

20130916_175832

I stir-fried the veggies lightly in a splash of stock and added the chicken to warm it up.

20130916_180101

Then I added the stock, some pepper and a bit of chopped garlic and simmered until it smelled delicious. By this time my tummy was growling away, demanding a big bowl. I was happy to oblige.

20130916_181217

So here’s my dinner. I’m not going to lie, I ate most of the pot over the course of the day. It was soothing and filling. Try it yourself or post your favourite soup recipe below.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

