My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Better than NyQuil

So on my stay-in-bed-fight-the-killer-cold weekend, I really craved something soothing. I made myself a drink that a friend taught me in university. I’ll give you the basic recipe (which I used) and then a bunch of extras you can add as you like. This drink is like a virgin hot toddy and it makes me sleepy so time to get started!

20130915-211838.jpg

To a large mug add two TBSPs of honey, two TBSPs of lemon juice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and enough boiling water to make a full mug. You can change the amounts of every ingredient to make this drink suit your taste buds. Stir vigorously and enjoy! Simple and soothing in the time it takes to boil water.

20130915-211849.jpg

There are any number of extras you can add to change up this drink. Here are a few suggestions:

  • maple syrup (instead of honey)
  • tea (go for decaf if you need some extra sleep)
  • ginger
  • orange juice
  • sriracha (I haven’t tried this but some people swear by it)
  • booze (not By Design, but sometimes a shot of whisky goes a long way)

Try this the next time you are under the weather. It helped me sleep and calmed my cough so I was able to forgo pharmaceuticals for this little cold. If you have your own recipe, drop me a message below and I’ll post your recipe too.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

