My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

Lunchbox Ready.

This is actually my lunchbox but I don't often use this one for work as it is too small!

This is actually my lunchbox but I don’t often use this one for work as it is too small! It is cute though!

I have had the pleasure of packing school lunches for myself starting from when I was an elementary school student and I’ll be packing them until the day I retire.  Now that I teach, I really have to think about how I eat at school. I rarely have more than a few minutes to shove some food in my belly and the staff room is a den of sweets and trans fat laden foods to share. The school cafeterias are claiming they are offering healthier lunches but most of it is still grain-based and junky, (sandwiches and pizza, just without French fries as a side option).

In anticipation of the new semester, I got out my grocery list and coupons and headed to the store to stock up on my lunchbox favourites. Here’s what I keep in the house to make lunches easier:

  • veggies, veggies, veggies, (salad is so easy to pack and cut up veggies make a good mid-morning snack)
  • fruit, (especially apples, berries and anything in season)
  • Crazins, (my favourite salad topping)
  • boneless, skinless chicken breast, (great to pre-cook and chop onto salads)
  • small cans of tuna (plain or lemon pepper to avoid mayo)
  • eggs, (for making hard-boiled eggs)
  • pepperettes
  • soup, (in the past I’ve bought a lot of soup but I’m going to try to make more soup this year to avoid the high sodium and preservative contents of the canned or boxed stuff)
  • celery and peanut butter
  • small cans of V8 low-sodium tomato juice
  • Greek yogurt, (I take it in small containers with a little honey on it, great for when I’m craving sweets)
  • unsalted, roasted almonds
  • spicy, roasted chick peas
  • organic dark chocolate
  • sesame snacks

I also carry my water bottle and a tea thermos from David’s Tea. This is the best thermos because it keeps my tea hot all day for those mornings when I don’t have even a moment to sit and sip.

20130902_090946

My lunch habits have changed as I eat by design more and more. I used to eat granola bars…a lot…like one a day. But it’s so difficult to find them without massive amounts of sugar and corn syrup. I tried to look up recipes to make my own but most of them also contained corn syrup in large quantities. If anyone knows a decent recipe, post a link below. I still miss granola bars now and again.

Feel free to post your school lunch ideas below. That way we can get new ideas and avoid lunchbox letdown!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

