My Year By Design

The journey to living by design.

I’ve been bitten by the white devil.

Bridal planning…so much planning.

I didn’t plan my wedding as a kid. I never dreamed of big white dresses or flower arrangements. I wasn’t even sure I would get married until I met my partner. When he got down on one knee I was ready to say yes.

And so we plunged into wedding planning. My fiancé and I ran into some venue conflicts early and we moved the date of our wedding up…by a year. A 2015 wedding became a 2014 wedding in the blink of an eye. There are 199 days left until my wedding.

Command central for wedding planning.

Command central for wedding planning.

I could freak out but it’s our day and I don’t really feel like making myself crazy, (or more crazy than usual, anyway). I took two weeks out of my summer and I planned like it was my job. I was my own wedding planner. I battled the white devil to make my fiancé and I happy.

I find the whole world of wedding planning a bit frightening. Experts are telling you that you need things you’ve never even heard of, (response cards, boutonnieres, linen paper?) and everyone has a piece of advice.

My advice? Keep it simple and do what you want. I’m extraverted and love to be the center of attention. My fiancé is introverted and would rather people not focus their undivided attention on him. Therefore, he and I have made an agreement that if we’re not having fun, we’re not doing it. We are thriving in the land of compromise and laughter and I’ll be damned if anyone is going to wreck it for us. I will slap every bridal expert or family member who can’t deal with that. At the end of this strange, white puffy experience, my new husband and I will look at this time with joy, not regret. That’s the best wedding gift we can give ourselves.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

